Library Mascots

Does your library have a mascot? Having a library mascot is a very important thing, and having a name for that library mascot is more important. The library where I work has a Betta fish called Giles (named after Rupert Giles in Buffy The Vampire Slayer). My boss has a connection to Giles and the kids love him too! Today while at work, I was told that Giles looked dead, with that comment I freaked. I actually tapped on Giles’ tank just to see if he moved, which he did. The patron, who is a regular asked me why I have a love for Giles, I said that if Giles goes, then my job might go with him. So hopefully Giles won’t die on my watch!

Need some ideas for your library mascot? Chrysanthemum the Mouse, Thing One and Thing Two, Ahab (or Ishmael) the Fish, or Guinevere the Bunny.

Small Town Librarian ♥

This entry was posted in Children, Library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

